A panel of experts discusses the three pillars of Food Equity and what can be done to ensure all families have access to good food in every zip code.
Leaders will discuss the landscape of abortion access and reproductive justice in the wake of the Dobbs decision. Attendees will learn what public health can do to protect access to comprehensive reproductive health care, and how we can uphold and support the work reproductive justice advocates have been doing for decades.
Environmental health means paying attention to how all the places we work, play and live are affecting health. Monitoring health threats, building better infrastructure and involving the community in local decisions help ensure everyone’s health and well-being. Find out more in this episode of "That's Public Health" from APHA and Complexly.
In Zimbabwe in the 1980s, Mary Bassett witnessed the AIDS epidemic firsthand, and she helped set up a clinic to treat and educate local people about the deadly virus. But looking back, she regrets not sounding the alarm for the real problem: the structural inequities embedded in the world's political and economic organizations, inequities that make marginalized people more vulnerable. These same structural problems exist in the United States today, and as New York City's Health Commissioner, Bassett is using every chance she has to rally support for health equity and speak out against racism.
Learn about the many public health career paths, including government public health careers, community health nurses and workers, careers in biostatistics, and global health careers.
Learn about being a public health nurse.
Learn about the professions of community health workers and educators.
Learn what a behavioral Scientist does.
Learn about the job of a laboratory professional.
See what a biostatistician does in the public health field.
Learn about the career of an epidemiologist.
Schools scared to death
The truth is, one education under desks,
Stooped low from bullets;
That plunge when we ask
Where our children
Shall live
& how
& if
101 + Careers in Public Health, 2/e by
In just the past few years, interest in public health careers has soared. Public health degrees are more popular than ever, but what opportunities are out there once you've earned that MPH? And do you have to have a degree in public health to break into this field? This updated and revised second edition of 101+ Careers in Public Health provides an extensive overview of the numerous and diverse career options available and the many different roads to achieving them. It includes both familiar public health careers and emerging opportunities. New to the second edition are public health careers in the military, public health and aging, and careers in cutting-edge areas such as nanotechnology and public health genetics. Readers will learn about modern approaches to public health programs, including the evolving study of implementation science and the increased role of community participatory research. The second edition also presents expanded information on getting started in public health, including the increasingly popular field of global health. Included are descriptions of careers in disease prevention, environmental health, disaster preparedness, nutrition, education, public safety, and manymore. Whether you are a student who wants to launch a career or a professional looking to change careers, this guide offers a straightforward introduction to the public health field. It details the training, salary ranges, and degree requirements for each job and alerts readers to alternative pathways beyond the traditional MPH. NEW TO THE SECOND EDITION: Public health careers in the military Public health and aging Expanded information on global health careers and how to get started in global health Careers in cutting-edge domains of public health, such as nanotechnology and public health genetics The evolving roles of implementation science and community participatory research MD or MPH? The differences between health care and public health KEY FEATURES: Includes a detailed guide to educational paths, options, and training requirements at the bachelor's, master's, and PhD levels Offers guidance on navigating the job market through both traditional and nontraditional pathways Provides tips on landing the job you want Includes interviews with public health professionals who offer details of their day-to-day lives on the job Helps job seekers just starting out and those interested in career change
Community Organizing and Community Building for Health and Social Equity, 4th Edition by
The fourth edition of Community Organizing and Community Building for Health and Social Equity provides both classic and recent contributions to the field, with a special accent on how these approaches can contribute to health and social equity. The 23 chapters offer conceptual frameworks, skill- building and case studies in areas like coalition building, organizing by and with women of color, community assessment, and the power of the arts, the Internet, social media, and policy and media advocacy in such work. The use of participatory evaluation and strategies and tips on fundraising for community organizing also are presented, as are the ethical challenges that can arise in this work, and helpful tools for anticipating and addressing them. Also included are study questions for use in the classroom. Many of the book's contributors are leaders in their academic fields, from public health and social work, to community psychology and urban and regional planning, and to social and political science. One author was the 44th president of the United States, himself a former community organizer in Chicago, who reflects on his earlier vocation and its importance. Other contributors are inspiring community leaders whose work on-the-ground and in partnership with us "outsiders" highlights both the power of collaboration, and the cultural humility and other skills required to do it well. Throughout this book, and particularly in the case studies and examples shared, the role of context is critical, and never far from view. Included here most recently are the horrific and continuing toll of the COVID-19 pandemic, and a long overdue, yet still greatly circumscribed, "national reckoning with systemic racism," in the aftermath of the brutal police killing of yet another unarmed Black person, and then another and another, seemingly without end. In many chapters, the authors highlight different facets of the Black Lives Matter movement that took on new life across the country and the world in response to these atrocities. In other chapters, the existential threat of climate change and grave threats to democracy also are underscored. View the Table of Contents and introductory text for the supplementary instructor resources. (https://d3tto5i5w9ogdd.cloudfront.net/wp-content/uploads/2022/02/04143046/9781978832176_optimized_sampler.pdf) Supplementary instructor resources are available on request: https://www.rutgersuniversitypress.org/communityorganizing
Food Town, USA by
Look at any list of America's top foodie cities and you probably won't find Boise, Idaho or Sitka, Alaska. Yet they are the new face of the food movement. Healthy, sustainable fare is changing communities across this country, revitalizing towns that have been ravaged by disappearing industries and decades of inequity. What sparked this revolution? To find out, Mark Winne traveled to seven cities not usually considered revolutionary. He broke bread with brew masters and city council members, farmers and philanthropists, toured start-up incubators and homeless shelters. What he discovered was remarkable, even inspiring. In Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, once a company steel town, investment in the arts has created a robust new market for local restaurateurs. In Alexandria, Louisiana, "one-stop shopping" food banks help clients apply for health insurance along with SNAP benefits. In Jacksonville, Florida, aeroponics are bringing fresh produce to a food desert. Over the course of his travels, Winne experienced the power of individuals to transform food and the power of food to transform communities. The cities of Food Town, USA remind us that innovation is ripening all across the country, especially in the most unlikely places.
Healthy Places, Healthy People by
At the clinic, in the classroom, and across the globe, nurses are at the forefront of leading change and promoting social justice in healthcare. To provide the best possible patient care and effectively improve a community's future health, nurses need practical advice, realistic strategies, and the core public health leadership competencies-community relationship-building, inquiry, assessment, analysis, planning, action, evaluation, and persuasion-that transcend categorical public health concerns. Healthy Places, Healthy People, Third Edition, provides everything that current and future nurses need to prepare, gather, organize, and analyze basic community information to create a public health strategy. Includes coverage on: A public health strategy that can be applied to any community, at any time, to achieve public health and social justice, NEW: Information and strengths-based assessments to help meet The Joint Commission requirements to provide culturally sensitive care, NEW: Practical steps, tools, and activities to help students bridge concepts to application, assessment, action, and evaluation, NEW: A juxtaposition of ethnography and epidemiology to illustrate the differences and complementarities between the two scientific orientations in community/public health nursing, NEW: Information reflecting the updated Healthy People 2020 national agenda from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Book jacket.
An Introduction to Community and Public Health by
Now with a new full color design and art program, the Eighth Edition of An Introduction to Community & Public Health provides the latest trends and statistics in community health. With an emphasis on developing the knowledge and skills necessary for a career in health education, this best-selling introductory text covers such topics as epidemiology, community organization, program planning, minority health, health care, mental health, environmental health, drugs, safety, and occupational health. A robust pedagogy helps students understand and retain key learning objectives and better prepare for class.
Public Health by
The "Break the Cycle" program has been an annual academic event since 2005, recruiting students from many different disciplines and departments at different universities across the United States and the world, to break the cycle of environmental health disparities at any point. This volume presents the set of "Break the Cycle" projects that look at the international stage. Environmental conditions and health disparities are universal and represent a challenge for our global village. We hope to see many more students assist with this program in different international settings. The students are, after all, our future; our work is a preparation for them to make the world a better place for generations to come. Poverty, disadvantage, disease and disability are all global challenges. This global picture has been captured in the Millennium Development Goals 2015, which came out of the Millennium Summit in September 2000, the largest gathering of world leaders in history. We now have the UN Sustainable Development Goals to guide our efforts for the next couple of decades.
Reproduction, Health, and Medicine by
At a moment when reproduction is increasingly politicized, this volume explores the breadth of contemporary research on reproduction from the perspective of medical sociology, illuminating the lived experience of reproduction and offering insights to inform sociology and health policy. Reproduction, Health, and Medicine elucidates the tensions and contradictions between the normal physiologic processes of pregnancy and birth and the sociocultural beliefs, values, and arrangements that shape how we experience these biological phenomena. Investigating a range of reproductive events and experiences, including pregnancy, birth, abortion and fertility planning, the volume advances our understanding of how lay people and professionals make cultural meaning out of these processes in diverse settings. The chapters highlight how studies of reproduction, health, and medicine interface with core sociological concepts such as stratification, inequality, intersectionality, family and kinship, risk, and social control, and how experiences of reproduction are shaped by gender, race, class, sexuality and citizenship, as well as culture, health care systems, and health politics.
Toward Equity in Health by
This essential collection presents a state-of-the-art framework for how workers in public health and related disciplines should conceptualize health disparities and how they should be addressed worldwide. The contributors, who are leading public health professionals, educators, and practitioners in complimentary fields advance new evidence-based models designed to mobilize and educate the next generation of research and practice. The resulting chapters articulate new theory, procedures, and policies; the legacy of racism; community-based participatory research; new internet technology; training community workers and educators; closing the education and health gap; and addressing the needs of special populations. Toward Equity in Health is an essential book for all who are working toward global health equity-whether in health education, health promotion, disease prevention, public health, the health care delivery system, or patient- and population level health.
Unnatural Disasters by
Storms, floods, fires, tsunamis, earthquakes, tornadoes, and other disasters seem not only more frequent but also closer to home. As the world faces this onslaught, we have placed our faith in "sustainable development," which promises that we can survive and even thrive in the face of climate change and other risks. Yet while claiming to "go green," we have instead created new risks, continued to degrade nature, and failed to halt global warming. Unnatural Disasters offers a new perspective on our most pressing environmental and social challenges, revealing the gaps between abstract concepts like sustainability, resilience, and innovation and the real-world experiences of people living at risk. Gonzalo Lizarralde explains how the causes of disasters are not natural but all too human: inequality, segregation, marginalization, colonialism, neoliberalism, racism, and unrestrained capitalism. He tells the stories of Latin American migrants, Haitian earthquake survivors, Canadian climate activists, African slum dwellers, and other people resisting social and environmental injustices around the world. Lizarralde shows that most reconstruction and risk-reduction efforts exacerbate social inequalities. Some responses do produce meaningful changes, but they are rarely the ones powerful leaders have in mind. This book reveals how disasters have become both the causes and consequences of today's most urgent challenges and proposes achievable solutions to save a planet at risk, emphasizing the power citizens hold to change the current state of affairs.
