Skip to Main Content

CGCC Library Celebrates Graphic Novels

A Guide to Graphic Novels at Chandler Gilbert Community College Library

Web Resources for Graphic Novels & Comics

Web Resources

Bibliographic Sources

  • The Comic Book Database: ComicBookDB.com is the fastest-growing comic database on the web. The first goal of this project is to catalog every comic, graphic novel, manga, creator, character and anything else that could relate to the field of comics.
  • Comics Research Bibliography: The Comics Research Bibliography began as an online resource in 1996. When updates to the online version have stopped, the compilers decided to produce a semi-annual print and electronic version to fill the gap. The final (2022) edition of the Bibliography is available here via the Internet Archive.

  • ComicsResearch.org: primarily covers book-length works about comic books and comic strips, from "fannish" histories to academic monographs, providing detailed information and guidance on further research.

  • Cover Browser: Explore galleries of 450000+ covers, from comic books to pulp to magazines. No annotations or credits included, just covers.

  • DC Comics Database: The world's largest DC Comics encyclopedia, that anyone can edit, hosted by Wikia. The project contains 110,485 articles and 131,772 images.
  • Digital Comic Museum: The best site for downloading FREE public domain Golden Age Comics. All files here have been researched by staff and users to make sure they are copyright free and in the public domain.
  • The Grand Comics Database (GCD): The Grand Comics Database (GCD) is a nonprofit, internet-based organization of international volunteers dedicated to building an open database covering all printed comics throughout the world.
  • Marvel Comics Database: Covers the contents of Marvel comics published since 1939, including cover images, story synopses, credits, etc. Searchable and browsable by title, year, etc.

Specialized Resources

  • The Annotated Watchmen: The Annotations are intended for the second-time reader, someone who's read through once, knows the basic plot, but missed a lot of the detail and wants to find it. If you are reading them along with your first reading of the series, you may find that it spoils some of the surprise.
  • Guardians of the North: The Guardians of the North: The National Superhero in Canadian Comic-Book Art website is based on an archival exhibition of the same title that was originally mounted at the National Archives' Canadian Museum of Caricature in 1992. Curated by Canadian comics scholar and archivist John Bell, the original exhibition drew upon the holdings of the National Archives of Canada, the National Library of Canada and various private collections in order to explore the history of Canada's national superheroes – costumed comic book heroes that personify the Canadian spirit and identity.
  • 1954 Comic Code Authority: Code of the Comics Magazine Association of America. Inc. Adopted on October 26, 1954, the enforcement of this Code is the basis for the comic magazine industry's program of self-regulation.