Annie Leibovitz Life through a Lens (DVD). A look at the life and career of photographer Annie Leibovitz, who is best known for her striking photographs of celebrities.
Leibovitz, Barbara.; Leibovitz, Annie | TR140 .L45 A465 2008
Ann Lowe : American Couturier. The definitive illustrated volume on the work and life of Ann Lowe, a consummate couturier whose important legacy has remained under-appreciated—until now.
Way, Elizabeth | TT505.L69 W39 2023
The Art of Ruth E. Carter : Costuming Black History and the Afrofuture, from Do the Right Thing to Black Panther. Famed costumer Ruth E. Carter describes the passion for history that inspired her period pieces and her devotion to highlighting the humanity of the Black experience.
Carter, Ruth E.; forward by Gurira, Danai | TT505.C3757 A3 2023
Black Designers in American Fashion. Using previously unexplored sources, Black Designers in American Fashion addresses the erased histories of black fashion designers and their integral role in the American fashion industry.
Way, Elizabeth, editor. | TT504.4 .B59 2021
Cindy Sherman. Using herself as a model in a range of costumes in invented situations, artist Cindy Sherman plays with images created and popularized by mass media, popular culture, and fine art.
Moorhouse, Paul, author. Sherman, Cindy, photographer, artist. | TR655 .M665 2019
Cover Girl Culture Awakening the Media Generation (DVD). An examination of how advertising and the cult of celebrity have deeply and negatively impacted teens and young women.
Clark, Nicole K.; Clark, John.; et al. | HQ799.2.M35 C68 2009
Dapper Dan: Made in Harlem: A Memoir. Dapper Dan's memoir is a high-stakes coming-of-age story spanning more than 70 years and set against the backdrop of an ever-evolving America.
Day, Daniel R., author.; Awake, Mikael, author. | F128.68.H3 D39 2019
Gaga Aesthetics: Art, Fashion, Popular Culture, and the Up-Ending of Tradition. An exploration of "Gaga Aesthetics," the condition of popular culture being infused in and with high culture.
Geczy, Adam ; Karaminas, Vicki. | eBook available in EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection
The Great Fashion Designers: From Chanel to Mcqueen, the Names That Made Fashion History
This brilliantly written guide to the lives and collections of 55 iconic fashion designers draws on the latest academic research, the best of fashion journalism, and interviews with designers.
Polan, Brenda ; Tredre, Roger. | eBook available en EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection
Supreme Models : Iconic Black Women Who Revolutionized Fashion. Black models have been influencing fashion and pop culture for decades, reshaping the standards and boundaries of beauty.
Reynolds, Marcellas; Webb, Veronica, writer of foreword. | HD8039.M772 U5694 2019
Borderless Fashion Practice: Contemporary Fashion in the Metamodern Age. Twenty-first century fashion practice has become increasingly borderless and diverse in the digital era, calling into question the very boundaries that define fashion in the Western cultural context.
Gerrie, Vanessa | eBook available in EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection
Fashion : a Very Short Introduction. Offers a wide-ranging and revealing look at fashion that discusses everything from production and design, to couture and retailing, to the wider role of fashion in society. Arnold, Rebecca. | TT507 .A765 2009 | eBook available in EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection
Fashion Design Workshop Remix: a Modern, Inclusive, and Diverse Approach to Fashion Illustration for Up-and-Coming Designers. A modern, inclusive, and diverse approach to fashion illustration for new designers that encourages freedom of expression and individual style.
Corfee, Stephanie | eBook available in EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection
Fashion Drawing. Fashion Drawing presents a fresh perspective on the basic principles and practices of contemporary drawing styles, applied to a fashion context.
Hopkins, John | eBook available in EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection
Fashion Thinking: Creative Approaches to the Design Process. Follow ten exceptional fashion design students as they respond to a brief and explore the thinking behind their final collections.
Dieffenbacher, Fiona | available in EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection
Fashion: the Definitive Visual Guide. Learn all about fashion's trailblazers and trendsetters in this boldly illustrated, definitive guide that charts style from the late 19th century to the modern day.
Hennessy, Kathryn, editor | GT511 .F365 2019
Fashion Stylists: History, Meaning and Practice. Featuring contributions from leading experts and stylists, this collection is the first to explore the history, meaning and practice of fashion styling.
Lynge-Jorlen, Ane; Lynge-Jorlén, Ane | eBook available in EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection
How to Slay: Inspiration From the Queens & Kings of Black Style. A lavishly illustrated overview of African American style and fashion through the twentieth century, focusing on the last thirty-five years.
White, Constance C. R; Steele, Valerie, writer of preface. | TT504.4 .W495 2018
Black Ivy : a Revolt in Style. Explores a period in American history when Black men across the country adopted the clothing of a privileged elite–the classic Ivy Look–and made it their own.
Jules, Jason, author.; Marsh, Graham, author. | GT525 .J85 2021
Costume and Fashion : a Concise History. Covers the landmarks of costume history, the forms and materials used through the ages, as well as the ways humans have used clothing.
Laver, James, author.; Tucker, Andrew, author.; De La Haye, Amy, author. | GT511 .L39 2020
Fashion Killa : How Hip-hop Revolutionized High Fashion. At the intersection of cultural commentary and oral history, this book explores the contributions of hip-hop to music, fashion, and our culture. Krishnamurthy, Sowmya, author. | ML3918.R37 K75 2023
Fashioning James Bond: Costume, Gender and Identity in the World of 007. Provides the first full-length critical study of the costumes and fashions of the James Bond movie franchise, from Sean Connery in 1962's Dr No to Daniel Craig in Spectre (2015).
Chapman, Llewella, author. | PN1995.9.J3 C47 2022
Shaping Femininity: Foundation Garments, the Body and Women in Early Modern England. The first large-scale study of the materiality, production, consumption and meanings of foundation garments for women in sixteenth and seventeenth-century England.
Bendall, Sarah | eBook available in EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection
Africa in Fashion: Luxury, Craft and Textile Heritage. Explores the craft cultures that have shaped African fashion for centuries and captures the stories of contemporary and avant-garde African brands.
Nimo, Ken Kweku, author.; Sagoe, Deola, 1966- writer of foreword. | TT504.6.A35 N56 2022
African Dress : Fashion, Agency, Performance. Focusing on the dressed body as a performance site, 'African Dress' explores how ideas and practices of dress contest or legitimize existing power structures through expressions of individual identity and the cultural and political order.
Hansen, Karen Tranberg.; Madison, D. Soyini. | GT1580 .A57 2013
Dandy Lion : the Black Dandy and Street Style. Presents and celebrates the Black dandy movement, and its designers and tailors, in photographs and stories from all over the world.
Lewis, Shantrelle P. | GT6720 .L49 2017
Fashion Before Plus-Size : Bodies, Bias, and the Birth of an Industry. Peters considers what came 'before' plus-size fashion while also examining the ways that the fashion industry perpetuates and produces weight bias.
Peters, Lauren Downing, author. | HD9940.U4 P484 2023
Fat Fashion : The Thin Ideal and the Segregation of Plus-Size Bodies. Why is the fashion industry forfeiting a considerable share of the market in the form of plus-size consumers, seemingly against its commercial interests? Is there a way out of this system of thin ideals and segregated fat bodies?
VolonteĢ, Paolo | eBook available in EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection
Fraying Fabric : How Trade Policy and Industrial Decline Transformed America. Looks at how shortsighted trade and economic policy undermined an employment sector that once employed millions.
Benton, James C., author. | HD9855 .B35 2022
Fluid : A Fashion Revolution. Explores the concept of fluidity in gender and fashion, with an aim to inspire and empower queer individuals to embrace their authentic selves.
Reed, Harris.; Young, Josh. | eBook available in EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection
Liberated Threads : Black Women, Style, and the Global Politics of Soul. Explores how and why black women used their clothing, jewelry, hair, and general "soul style" not simply as a fashion statement but as an integral part of their activism and as a powerful tool of resistance.
Ford, Tanisha C., author. | HV1421 .F67 2015
Making it in America: the Almost Impossible Quest to Manufacture in the U.S.A. (and how it got that way). A deeply personal account of one couple's quest to change the world and grapple with what "Made in the USA" really means to Americans in the twenty-first century.
Slade, Rachel, author. | HD9855 .S53 2024
meXicana Fashions: Politics, Self-Adornment, and Identity Construction. Examines and searches for meaning in these visible, performative aspects of identity.
Hurtado, Aída ; Cantú, Norma E. | eBook available in EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection
Veiling in Fashion : Space and the Hijab in Minority Communities. Enters the worlds of women who wear the hijab, both as an aspect of their religious observance and community belonging, and as a fashion statement, drawing upon global Islamic fashion history.
Almila, Anna-Mari | eBook available in EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection
Designing Fashion's Future: Present Practice and Tactics for Sustainable Change. 50+ interviews and case studies present diverse perspectives from fashion professionals from multinational retailers.
Payne, Alice | eBook available in EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection
Fashionopolis : the Price of Fast Fashion--and the Future of Clothes. Discover the visionary designers and companies who are propelling the industry toward that more positive future by reclaiming traditional craft and launching cutting-edge sustainable technologies to produce better fashion.
Thomas, Dana | HD9940.A2 T46 2019
Inconspicuous Consumption : the Environmental Impact you Don't Know You Have. Empowers people to make the best choices that they can, while allowing them to draw their own conclusions
Schlossberg, Tatiana, author. | HC79.C6 S258 2019
A Practical Guide to Sustainable Fashion. Packed with examples from groundbreaking designers, provides an overview of current models of fashion design and production.
Gwilt, Alison | eBook available in EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection
Stories of Fashion, Textiles, and Place: Evolving Sustainable Supply Chains. Follows the journeys of five companies with evolving sustainable supply chains in the fashion and textile industry.
Davis Burns, Leslie ; Carver, Jeanne | eBook available in EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection
Zero Waste Fashion Design. Discusses the history of zero waste fashion, pattern cutting as a fashion design tool, and zero waste fashion design from the basics through manufacturing.
Rissanen, Timo, author.; McQuillan, Holly, author. | TT507 .R57 2024
Donyale Luna: Supermodel. Chronicles the remarkable life and career of the first Black model to grace the cover of both Harper's Bazaar and Vogue.
Available in the Films on Demand Collection
House of Cardin. A rare peek into the mind of a genius, an authorized feature documentary chronicling the life and design of Pierre Cardin, who has granted the directors exclusive access to his archives.
Available in the Alexander Street AVON Collection
Riveted: The History of Jeans. From their roots in slavery to the Wild West, hippies, high fashion and hip-hop, jeans are the fabric on which the history of American ideology and politics are writ large.
Available in the Alexander Street AVON Collection
Saint Laurent. Dive into the color and lush textures of fashion icon Yves Saint Laurent. Explore the mind of a creative genius that turned a haute couture label into a worldwide phenomenon.
Available in the Alexander Street AVON Collection
Salvatore: Shoemaker of Dreams. Ferragamo began his career as a shoemaker before he was barely a teenager and helped invent the glamour of Hollywood’s silent era as he created shoes for iconic films.
Available in the Alexander Street AVON Collection
Very Ralph. With an uncanny ability to turn his dreams into reality, Ralph Lauren has built a global powerhouse, becoming a living embodiment of American optimism and the American Dream.
Available in the Films on Demand Collection
Women Who Transformed Fashion—From Corsets to Couture. This program explores the captivating journey of women's fashion through the ages—a tale of liberation, transformation, and self-expression.
Available in the Films on Demand Collection
Zara: The Story of the World's Richest Man. Examines one of the biggest and most successful retail stories of our time, and exposes issues that have arisen out of the fashion giant's rise to prominence.
Available in the Films on Demand Collection
