HUM209ThompsonCKF24: Auteur Report

The Pecos Campus Library is located at CGC Pecos Campus (LIB) at 2626 E. Pecos Road, Chandler AZ, 85225

Library Resources: Research assistance, Databases, Course Reserve, General Collection, Study Spaces, Computers and Printers.

Fall 2024 Hours

August 19  -  December 12, 2024

• Monday - Thursday: 7:00 am - 8:00 pm
• Friday, 8:00 am - 2:00 pm
• Saturday & Sunday: Closed

For the Fall Semesters, we will be closed:

• September 2nd : Labor Day
• November 11th: Veterans Day
• November 28th & 29th: Thanksgiving

Contact: 

• Circulation: 480-988-8611 (Circulation, Library Info)
• Reference: 480-988-8275 (Reference, Research assistance)

The Williams Campus Library is located in Bridget Hall on the CGC Williams Campus at 7360 E Tahoe Avenue, Mesa AZ, 85212.

Library Resources: Research assistance, Databases, Course Reserve, General Collection, Study Spaces, Computers and Printers.

Fall 2024 Hours

August 19  -  December 12, 2024

• Monday - Thursday: 7:00 am - 8:00 pm
• Friday, 8:00 am - 2:00 pm
• Saturday & Sunday: Closed

For the Fall Semesters, we will be closed:

• September 2nd : Labor Day
• November 11th: Veterans Day
• November 28th & 29th: Thanksgiving

Contact: 

• Circulation: 480-988-8611 (Circulation, Library Info)
• Reference: 480-988-8275 (Reference, Research assistance)

Below is a copy of the Auteur Report assignment for your convenience.

To access the assignment, make sure you are signed into a Gmail account (preferably your student Gmail account) BEFORE clicking "Make a Copy." - the document will then save automatically to your Google Drive. *Tip: Google Chrome works best.

Auteur Report

This page is dedicated to your HUM209 Auteur Report. Auteur Theory is the theory of filmmaking in which the director is viewed as the major creative force in a motion picture, i.e. the theory of director-as-author. 

In this assignment you will:

• Craft a brief biography of your director
  • Per your instructor: "Focus on the information that is relevant to the study of their films as opposed to giving a broad overview of their entire life."
• Explore their distinctive style
  • Per your instructor: "Explore the unique artistic sensibilities of your director/screenwriter. These are the recognizable cinematographic styles and thematic foci of your director including visual elements as camera placement, blocking, lighting, and scene length, content focus, etc. which distinguish them from other auteurs."

For your convenience, I have included your assignment in the left-hand column as well as other useful information such as Primary vs. Secondary sources, MLA and/or APA citation information, and Keyword help in the tabs above. 

By the end of the class, students will be able to 

• Conduct searches in library databases for information
• Analyze the information to decide if it is applicable to the assignment

Gale Biography

Gale Biography is for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. Organized into a user-friendly portal experience, it merges Gale's authoritative reference content, including Lives & Perspectives, with periodicals and multimedia.

Watch the video below to learn how to search in Gale Biography.

Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary database that provides access to full-text scholarly journal articles and general interest magazines. Multiple databases can be searched at one time.

Watch the video below to learn how to search in Academic Search Premier.

 Add / Reorder  

Remember to send me an email if you have any questions. My information is in the right-hand column of this page. The resources and information I suggest in this guide will work for most topics, most of the time; but if yours is proving tricky, let me know, that's what I'm here for!

Upload your materials here.

1. Select add/reorder

2.  Select document/file