The Pecos Campus Library is located on the CGC Pecos Campus at 2626 E Pecos Road, Chandler AZ, 85225.
Library Resources: Research assistance, Databases, Course Reserve, General Collection, Study Spaces, Computers and Printers.
Fall 2025 Hours
August 25 - December 18, 2025
We will be closed for the following holidays:
Contact:
The Williams Campus Library is located in Bridget Hall on the CGC Williams Campus at 7360 E Tahoe Avenue, Mesa AZ, 85212.
Library Resources: Research assistance, Databases, Course Reserve, General Collection, Study Spaces, Computers and Printers.
Fall 2025 Hours
August 25 - December 18, 2025
We will be closed for the following holidays:
Contact:
Have a question? Need assistance? Librarians are ready to help you. Ask a Librarian is a 24/7 chat service.
This page is a guide to the research component required for your CIS105 assignment about online safety.
Watch the following videos which will step you through the process of conducting online research, evaluating sources, and gathering more sources from the library databases. As you go, document your research process, record your chosen sources, and summarize your findings in the worksheet found HERE.
Info Lit. Outcomes
Determine the initial scope of the task required to meet information needs.
Determine the credibility of sources based on author, content, format, assignment need, etc.
In a previous activity, you were introduced to the library databases and used Gale eBooks to locate an article. The following video will introduce a different database for your use in this assignment.
Now, return to your research and follow the steps in the video to locate and search in the library databases. Remember to fill in the worksheet as you go.
After completing the database research and the first portion of the worksheet, you are ready for our next step.
Watch the following video about how to locate and evaluate sources online.
Now, find 1-2 reliable sources online using the steps demonstrated in the video. Be sure to use the research worksheet and answer each question fully.
You'll find help on creating APA citations for online sources below.
Created by an Individual Format:
Last Name, Initials. (Year, Month Date). Title of article. Site name. URL
Example:
Schneider, K.C. (2019, May 29). Dis-association. Free Range Librarian. http://freerangelibrarian.com/
Created by a Group Format:
Sponsoring organization. (Year, Month Date). Title of webpage. Site name. URL
Example:
American Library Association YALSA (2005). Outstanding books for the college bound. American Library Association. http://www.ala.org/yalsa/booklists/obcb
Now that you've found some great, reliable sources about online safety, you are ready to write your paragraphs!
Review the assignment in Canvas to make sure you are hitting all the required elements.
If you need any help with your research, visit the Library or use the library's 24/7 Ask a Librarian chat service: